Payment gateway fees in Poland: nine operators in złoty, interchange caps, the card-surcharge ban, SCA, payout terms and Shopify's third-party gateway fee.

A payment gateway is the service your store uses to accept BLIK, cards, bank transfers and wallets — and it takes a fee on every one of those payments. In Poland, the standard rates of eight of the nine operators we reviewed fall between 0.95% and 1.6%. What actually decides how much you hand over is usually something else: the fixed fee per transaction at a low basket value, payout, refund and dispute fees, payout timing, and the extra percentage some SaaS platforms add if you don't use their own payments product.
This article compares the standard published rates of nine operators — PayU, Przelewy24, Tpay, Stripe, PayPal, Autopay, Paynow (mBank), ING Pay (formerly imoje) and Revolut Business — as read on 30 September 2026, each one linked to its source. Rates change, and several of these providers negotiate, so check the current page before you sign anything.
A payment gateway (payment service provider) sits between your customer, their bank or card issuer, and your bank account. The customer picks a card or a bank redirect at checkout, the gateway authorises the payment, confirms it to your store, and — on its own settlement schedule — pays the money into your account.
The rate on a gateway's price list is really three layers stacked together, which you rarely see broken out:
The practical consequence: a gateway can only negotiate its own slice. On card payments it can't go below interchange and scheme fees, however good a customer you are. Interchange is capped at 0.2–0.3% of the transaction (we cite the exact figures below) — well under the roughly 1–1.6% that Polish operators actually charge. On BLIK there is one more layer: a 0.19% scheme fee, which PayU lists in its cost table of 8 May 2026 and ING Pay includes in its BLIK rate. That gap is scheme fees plus margin, not evidence that gateways are quietly keeping interchange for themselves.
A gateway isn't the same thing as the set of payment methods you offer. Which methods to support — cards, wallets, bank redirects, buy-now-pay-later — and what each one costs, is covered in our separate article on online payment methods. This one is about the cost and terms of the provider itself.
Prices read on 30 September 2026 (terms on 1 October 2026). The PayU, Autopay, Paynow and ING Pay price lists do not say whether the amounts are net.
Operator | Standard rate | Other confirmed terms | Disputes |
|---|---|---|---|
BLIK, fast transfers, cards, Google Pay, Apple Pay: 1.49% + PLN 0.30 (promo 1.1% + PLN 0.30) | registration PLN 199 (promo PLN 29); payouts and refunds PLN 0 | chargeback PLN 0 | |
transfers, BLIK, 3DS cards, Google Pay, Apple Pay: 1.29% + PLN 0.30 | activation PLN 59, refunded after 10 transactions in the first two months; no subscription; 4 payouts a month free, then PLN 0.99 | not stated | |
Starter: online transfers and BLIK 1.59% + PLN 0.39 | Starter: no monthly fee, activation PLN 99, refund PLN 1, payout PLN 2; Business: 0.99%, PLN 99 a month, activation PLN 1; cards individual | not published | |
EEA cards 1.5% + PLN 1.00 | BLIK 1.6% + PLN 1.00; Przelewy24 1.9% + PLN 1.00; international cards 3.25% + PLN 1.00 plus 2% currency conversion | PLN 90 per dispute | |
commercial transactions 2.90% + PLN 1.35 | card without a PayPal account 1.90% + PLN 1.35; no setup fee; a refund is free but the original fee is not returned; currency conversion 3.00% above the base rate; an interchange-plus option exists | chargeback PLN 65, dispute PLN 60 (PLN 120 at high dispute volume) | |
Standard 1.19% + PLN 0.34 | Starter 0% up to PLN 5,500 monthly turnover, then 1.1%, PLN 29.99 a month paid annually; activation PLN 49 (registered company) or PLN 199; refunds and payouts PLN 0 | not published | |
0.95% | registration and activation PLN 0; requires an mBank business account; no negotiation and no declared turnover needed | not published | |
ING Pay (formerly imoje) | from month 4: BLIK 1.59%, fast transfer 1.4%, cards and wallets 1.4% | activation and subscription PLN 0; 0% for 3 months; refund and payout PLN 0; the "Polska Bezgotówkowa" programme gives 12 months at 0% (or up to PLN 50k) | not published |
domestic and European consumer cards 1% + PLN 1 | business and non-European cards 2.8% + PLN 1; within Revolut Business plans; refunds no extra fee; no BLIK in the price list | PLN 80 |
A few notes on reading this table:
Our own worked example, at the standard rates with no promotions, activation or payout fees, for baskets of PLN 30, 150 and 500 (BLIK's average online payment in H1 2026 was PLN 162, hence the PLN 150):
Operator | PLN 30 | PLN 150 | PLN 500 |
|---|---|---|---|
PayU | 0.75 (2.5%) | 2.54 (1.7%) | 7.75 (1.55%) |
Przelewy24 | 0.69 (2.3%) | 2.24 (1.5%) | 6.75 (1.35%) |
Tpay Starter | 0.87 (2.9%) | 2.78 (1.85%) | 8.34 (1.67%) |
Stripe | 1.45 (4.8%) | 3.25 (2.2%) | 8.50 (1.7%) |
PayPal | 2.22 (7.4%) | 5.70 (3.8%) | 15.85 (3.2%) |
Autopay Standard | 0.70 (2.3%) | 2.13 (1.4%) | 6.29 (1.26%) |
Paynow | 0.29 | 1.43 | 4.75 (0.95%) |
ING Pay | 0.42 | 2.10 | 7.00 (1.4%) |
Revolut | 1.30 (4.3%) | 2.50 (1.7%) | 6.00 (1.2%) |
At PLN 30, the PLN 1.00 fixed fee at Stripe or Revolut already exceeds the whole PayU or Przelewy24 fee, and the effective rate passes 4%; at PLN 500 the percentage dominates. If your average order is small, compare gateways on your own basket size, not on the percentage printed at the top of the pricing page. A subscription changes the break-even too: Tpay Business against Starter at PLN 150 costs PLN 1.49 against PLN 2.78 per payment, so the PLN 99 a month pays off from about 77 payments a month (99 ÷ 1.29); Autopay Starter against Standard at a turnover of PLN 5,500 is PLN 65.45 plus PLN 0.34 per payment for Standard.
The payout schedule matters as much as the rate. Przelewy24: funds are available "no later than the end of the next Business Day", with a default payout once the unpaid balance reaches PLN 1,000 (changeable) (terms, version of 16 September 2024). Tpay: the next business day, with payout to your account within no more than 3 business days (7 for non-PLN), and a rolling reserve is possible. PayU: by the end of the next business day, Friday to Sunday going to Monday (help-centre article of 3 April 2026), and a rolling reserve is possible. Paynow: "next day or instantly"; the new mElements S.A. terms from 7 October 2026 allow a reserve of "no more than 10%" of each payment for "no longer than 90 days". ING Pay: settlement on the first business day after the transaction, with the full amount paid and fees debited separately and no rolling reserve in the terms. Revolut: "settlement in 24 hours" (the terms could not be read, so unconfirmed). Stripe: the first payout usually takes 7–14 days. PayPal: new sellers' payments are held "up to 21 days", released about 24 hours after tracked delivery. Autopay: PLN 0 for payouts, timing not stated. For scale, a 10% reserve for 90 days at PLN 15,000 a month holds back up to PLN 1,500 a month and up to PLN 4,500 after three months, and a first Stripe payout at PLN 500 a day delays PLN 3,500–7,000.
Charging a customer extra for paying by card feels like an easy way to pass on the gateway's fee. For most payments in the EU, it's against the law. Directive (EU) 2015/2366 (PSD2), Article 62(4) states: "Member States shall ensure that the payee shall not request charges for the use of payment instruments for which interchange fees are regulated under Chapter II of Regulation (EU) 2015/751 and for those payment services to which Regulation (EU) No 260/2012 applies." In practice, that covers consumer Visa and Mastercard cards and SEPA euro credit transfers. In Poland this is art. 37a(3) of the Payment Services Act (ustawa o usługach płatniczych, consolidated text Journal of Laws 2026, item 623), and where a surcharge is allowed it may not exceed the store's direct costs (art. 37a(2)).
Regulation (EU) 2015/751 caps the interchange fee on consumer cards: 0.2% of the transaction value for debit cards (Art. 3(1)) and 0.3% for credit cards (Art. 4). This is one layer of the fee, and member states may set lower domestic caps. It doesn't explain the full 1–1.6% a Polish gateway charges — that figure also carries scheme fees and the gateway's margin.
RTS (EU) 2018/389 requires two-factor authentication for most card payments online, with exemptions that shape how many steps a customer sees at checkout:
These exemptions belong to the payment service provider, not the merchant — you choose the gateway, the gateway (and the card issuer) decides whether a given customer skips the extra step.
On a subscription platform, the gateway decision isn't only between providers — the platform itself can add a fee if you skip its own payments product. Shopify Payments in Poland, on the Basic plan (shopify.com/pl/pricing; net or gross not stated): standard cards 1.95% + PLN 1.20; BLIK 1.3% + PLN 1.20; Przelewy24 1.6% + PLN 1.20; Klarna 4.99% + PLN 1.65, with lower card and Przelewy24 rates on higher plans.
The third-party gateway surcharge is 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced and 0.2% on Plus (help.shopify.com). It is charged on top of whatever your chosen gateway bills you, for every payment that isn't a manual method like cash on delivery or a bank transfer. On the Basic plan, routing a PLN 150 order through an external Przelewy24 costs PLN 2.24 (Przelewy24) plus PLN 3.00 (Shopify's 2%). The surcharge shrinks fast on higher plans.
Other platforms: IdoSell IdoPay (from 1.09.2026, net) Business 1.49%, cards 0.99%, chargeback PLN 120; the external-gateway integration fee from 1.08.2026 is up to 0.25% on Expert+, 0.19% on Enterprise and 0.15% on Individual, and 0% for IdoPay, Klarna, Stripe, PayPal and InPost Pay (the Business plan isn't listed). Shoper takes no sales commission; Standard includes payments and Stripe foreign payments (shoper.pl/cennik). Selly: Autopay 1.19% + PLN 0.30, Tpay 1.19% + PLN 99 a month, PayU and Przelewy24 1.19% "or your own contract" (selly.pl). AtomStore adds 0.50% / 0.40% / 0.30% by plan on gateways other than IdoPay (price list from 1.03.2026). WooCommerce, by contrast, charges "0% revenue share" on any gateway you connect (woocommerce.com/pricing) — you pay the gateway and nothing else at the platform level, in exchange for running and securing the integration yourself. Which platform fits depends on more than this one line item; we compare the full set in our platform comparison.
Not every rate card is open to negotiation: Przelewy24 states that "fees may be individually negotiated", Tpay's card rates are individual, Autopay has an "Individual" plan and Revolut "individual pricing", while Paynow says there is no negotiation. When you do ask, bring numbers, not a general request for "cheaper":
Negotiate more than the headline rate. Fixed fees, dispute costs and reserve terms can matter more than a tenth of a percentage point.
To see gateway and platform costs together over several years, use our e-commerce TCO calculator. If you're still planning the store itself, the online store cost calculator includes payment integration in the starting cost. For the rest of the payments and logistics picture, see payments and logistics.
Among the operators we checked (rates read 30 September 2026), Przelewy24 charges 1.29% + PLN 0.30, PayU 1.49% + PLN 0.30, Tpay Starter 1.59% + PLN 0.39, Stripe 1.5% + PLN 1.00 for an EEA card, Autopay 1.19% + PLN 0.34 and Paynow 0.95%; PayPal is the outlier at 2.90% + PLN 1.35. On top of the rate, check dispute fees, payout terms and, on a SaaS platform, any surcharge for using a gateway other than the platform's own.
Interchange, capped by Regulation (EU) 2015/751 at 0.2% (debit) and 0.3% (credit), is only one layer of the fee. Scheme fees charged by the card network and the gateway's own margin sit on top of it and aren't capped by that regulation, which is why the rate a gateway actually charges runs well above the interchange cap.
At a PLN 150 basket, Przelewy24 costs PLN 2.24 and PayU PLN 2.54 (PayU's promotion brings it to PLN 1.95). Both make funds available by the end of the next business day, so compare the activation fee, payout and refund terms and any reserve as well.
Not for the payments that matter most. Art. 37a(3) of the Polish Payment Services Act, implementing Article 62(4) of PSD2 (Directive (EU) 2015/2366) bars a surcharge on payment instruments whose interchange is regulated under Regulation (EU) 2015/751 — in practice, consumer Visa and Mastercard cards — and on SEPA euro credit transfers covered by Regulation (EU) No 260/2012.
Yes. Shopify adds a third-party-gateway fee of 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced and 0.2% on Plus, on top of whatever your chosen gateway bills; AtomStore and IdoSell (from the Expert+ plan) add their own fees for external gateways. It does not apply to manual payment methods such as cash on delivery or a bank transfer. The surcharge shrinks sharply on higher-tier plans.
We'll help you line up the gateway, the platform and the hidden fees against your own numbers — basket size, methods, payouts — before you sign anything.
Payments and logistics in e-commerce: what payment fees, shipping, packaging and returns cost per order in Poland, with sourced prices in PLN.
The One Stop Shop for a Polish store: the EUR 10,000 (PLN 42,000) EU-wide threshold, VIU-DO returns, VAT rates, packaging registries and consumer law.
The right of withdrawal in Poland: the 14-day deadline, the model form, refunds, the withdrawal button not yet in force, and the two-year legal guarantee.
Ecommerce shipping in Poland: InPost and ORLEN Paczka business price lists, fuel surcharges, parcel lockers and volumetric weight that can double the bill.
Online payment methods for Polish stores: BLIK, cards and SCA, Apple Pay, fast transfers, BNPL and cash on delivery, each with its published cost and risk.
What Allegro charges (commission, Smart! fees), what one order costs against your own store, and how Allegro API integration works.
Table of Contents · 6 sections · 17 minutes read
Rate this article

We found no independent Polish benchmark for SEO cost. How to turn a fee and its hours into an hourly rate, and what to ask before signing.

SMS marketing for online stores: GDPR and ePrivacy consent, what a campaign costs in PLN, and the Gmail, Yahoo and Outlook rules for email.

Ecommerce fulfillment: what the service covers, how providers in Poland price it, and when outsourcing your warehouse pays off instead of doing it in-house.

On premise, your own server: the full cost beyond hardware, the end of Windows Server 2016 support, and when the cloud or VPS wins instead.

A SaaS application from MVP to subscription: the five building blocks, recurring payments in Poland, the legal minimum, costs and the DVN Links example.

What an ERP system is, how many Polish firms use one, when a small business needs it, what it costs beyond the price list and where it goes wrong.

Three layers in the order that matters, the list of checks, and the price stated outright. With three findings an owner will never spot on their own.

The same brochure site gets quoted at both ends of the range, and both prices can be honest. Six factors that decide which end you are quoted at.

The lowest quote is not the price of a website, only the smallest part of the bill. Three price tiers, the real cost after a year, four warning signs.